Credits: All from AP - from left: Martin Mejia (Lima 2000), David de la Paz (Mexico City 1999), Jose Luis Magana (Mexico City 1998), Nasser Nasser (Ramallah 2002), Srdjan Ilic (Kosovo 1998) & Nasser Nasser (Ramallah 2000).
[Home] [Home] [Home] [Home] [Home] [Home] [Home]
May 7, 2010

[Home] [Home] [Home] [Home] [Home]

Journalist Safety
UN Resolution 1738

Journalist Safety
CoE Resolution 1535

Killing The Messenger
- INSI Global Inquiry - Report and Recommendations

Live News Africa
- A Survival Guide for Journalists

AIB Directory

Translations of key INSI information are available below in PDF format.
Note: You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your system to read them.

link to Arabic translation in PDF
link to Kurdish translation in PDF
link to Bengali translation in PDF
link to Azeri PDF
link to Word document in French
link to MS Word document in Spanish
link to MS Word document in Portuguese
link to PDF in Russian
link to PDF in Georgian
link to PDF in Tagalog
link to PDF in Bahasa Indonesia

"Tell a Colleague" button


The deadline is approaching for applications for 2007 Dart Center Ochberg Fellowships in Journalism and Trauma.

Reporting responsibly and credibly on violence and traumatic events — on crime, family violence, natural disasters and accidents, war and genocide — are among the greatest challenges facing contemporary journalism. The Dart Center Ochberg Fellows Program is designed for mid-career journalists who want to deepen their knowledge of emotional trauma and improve coverage of violence and tragedy.

Each year, the Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma selects 6-10 journalists as Dart Center Ochberg Fellows. Fellows attend several days of seminars, including briefings by leading experts in the trauma field and discussions with journalist colleagues, and attend the annual conference of the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies ( The Fellowship covers all travel and ground expenses.

This year's Dart Center Ochberg Fellows program takes place in Baltimore, Maryland, November 12-17.

Fellowships are open to print, broadcast and online and reporters, photographers, editors and producers with at least five years of journalism experience. The majority of Fellows are from the Americas. Fellows are also selected by the Dart Center's regional programs in Europe and Australasia.

Details and applications are available online at . Applications and supporting materials must be received at the Dart Center by July 20, 2007.


The Ochberg Fellowship opened a whole new world for me. Discussions during the fellowship seminar led me to an international reporting project in Rwanda and Bosnia. Back at home, the fact that I attended the Fellowship has given me credibility with victims' advocates and mental health professionals. My daily court beat has improved exponentially due to everything I have learned.

—Gina Barton, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Dart Center Ochberg Fellow, 2000

The chances to stop and take stock are all too rare as a reporter. The chance to stop and take stock with such a lively, open and stimulating group as gathered by Dart was unique.... We could not stop talking day and night, and the compassion and humanity on display was refreshing. it was like the best retreat - set apart yet blindlingly relevant - an oasis for the traveller, a spring for the spirit, and a challenge to the mind.

- David Loyn, BBC Developing World Correspondent, Dart Center Ochberg Fellow, 2005

Arnessa Garrett, Lafayette Advertiser
Lena Jacobbson, Court TV
Kim Komenich, San Francisco Chronicle
Jenny Manrique-Cortes, El Espectador, Colombia
Kevin McKiernan, freelance documentarian and author
Sharon Schmickle, Minneapolis Star-Tribune
Melissa Sweet, freelance, Australia
Petra Tabeling, WDR Radio Germany
Michelle Trudeau, National Public Radio

Kate Bramson, Providence Journal
Lori Grinker, Contact Press Images
Robert Jamieson, Seattle Post-Intelligencer
David Loyn, BBC
Melissa Manware, Charlotte Observer
Paul McEnroe, Minneapolis Star-Tribune
Arnim Stauth, WDR TV Germany
Mike Walter, WUSA-TV
Phil Williams, Australian Broadcasting Corp.

Darius Bazargan, BBC
Ted Czech, York Daily Herald
Kari Rene Hall, Los Angeles Times
Ron Haviv, VII Photo
Caleb Hellerman, CNN
Amy Herdy, Denver Post
Dana Hull, San Jose Mercury News
Miles Moffeit, Denver Post
Gary Tippet, The Age, Australia
Scott Wallace, freelance

Peter Burdin, BBC
Ron Claiborne, ABC TV
Donna DeCesare, photojournalist
Kristin Lombardi, Village Voice
Scott North, Everett Herald
Joe Rodríguez, photojournalist
Jason Vest, freelance

Maria Alvarez, New York Post
Dave Cullen, freelance
Seamus Kelters, BBC Belfast
Julia Lieblich, Chicago Tribune
Linnell Smith, Baltimore Sun
Peter Spielmann, Associated Press
Ruth Teichroeb, Seattle Post-Intelligencer

Keti Bochorishvili, BBC World Service Tblisi
Kathryn Eastburn, Westword
Carol Gorga Williams, Asbury Park Press
Frank Green, Richmond Times Dispatch
Liisa Hyvarinen, WTSP-TV
Natalie Pompilio, New Orleans Times-Picayune
David Wood, Newhouse News Service

Gina Barton, Milwaukee Sentinel
Jimmie Briggs, freelance
Gretel Daugherty, photojournalist
Laura Jackson, WHYY Philadelphia
Penny Owen Cockerell, The Oklahoman
Elaine Silvestrini, Tampa Tribune

Chris Bull, freelance
Gabrielle Crist, Fort Worth Star Telegram
David Handschuh, New York Daily News
Arlene Levinson, Associated Press
Deirdre Stoelzle, Caspar Star Tribune
Frank Smyth, freelance